Supplementary Election for Angas Bremer Ward

A supplementary election will take place in October and November to elect a new Councillor to represent Alexandrina Council’s Angas Bremer Ward.

The position was vacated by outgoing Councillor Katherine Stanley-Murray, who resigned on 17 July 2017. Alexandrina Council is required to hold a supplementary election as the vacancy is ward-based.

Nominations for the Councillor role will officially open on 28 September 2017 for a two week period, concluding at 12 Noon on Thursday, 12 October.

Key dates

  • 28 September 2017 - nominations open
  • 28 September - Candidates Briefing Session, 6pm, Strathalbyn Library and Community Centre, 1 Colman Terrace
  • 12 Noon Thursday, 12 October - nominations close
  • 24 October - 30 October - Electoral Commission SA to post out ballots
  • 13 November - Scrutiny and count at Strathalbyn Library and Community Centre, 1 Colman Terrace

Alexandrina Council Mayor Keith Parkes served as Councillor for the Goolwa Ward in 2010 to 2014, before successfully running as a candidate for the vacant Mayor position in 2014. He urged interested members of the Angas Bremer community, along with residents of the wider Alexandrina area, to consider nominating for the supplementary election.

“I encourage anyone that has previously contemplated representing their community as a Councillor to give this opportunity consideration. Nominations can come from anywhere in our Council district,” he said.

“The role of a Councillor is to act as the community’s voice. Councillors represent the community’s vision as well as local issues in the aim to encourage and achieve positive community change.

“Being a member of Council is a privileged role and one of the most direct ways you can influence decisions to affect the quality of life in your area.

“It is such a rewarding and fulfilling experience.”

The Angas Bremer Ward is the largest in the Alexandrina region by area, covering approximately 1240km2. The townships of Milang, Clayton Bay, Ashbourne, Langhorne Creek and Finniss are located in the Angas Bremer Ward.

Councillor Barry Featherston is the other current representative of the Angas Bremer Ward.

For more information please contact Council on 8555 7000 or