Council Elections 2018

About Local Government Elections

The community elects their council members every four years and the next general election will happen in October/November 2018. Unlike State and Federal elections, it is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections. Another important difference is that all voting in council elections is done by post. Even though voting in council elections is not compulsory, local democracy is an important feature of life in Australia, and councils have a far greater influence on communities than most people appreciate. Get involved and make a difference by participating in Alexandrina Council’s 2018 election.

For more information about enrolling to vote, nominating as a candidate for election, or voting in the election, click on the images below.

council elections 2018   council elections 2018  council elections 2018 

Election results will progressively be published on the Local Government Association website as of Saturday 10 November 2018.  The final results will also be published on the Local Government Association website and in newspapers across South Australia.

2018 Councils Elections Timetable

Roll Close 5pm Friday 10 August 2018
Candidate Information Session 2pm -5pm Wednesday 1 August 2018
Nominations Open Tuesday 4 September 2018
Candidate Briefing Goolwa 6pm-9pm Wednesday 5 September 2018
Candidate Briefing Strathalbyn 6pm-9pm Tuesday 11 September 2018
Nominations Close 12 noon Tuesday 18 September 2018
Caretaker Period 18 September to Close of Election
Mail Out of Voting Materials Monday 22 to Friday 26 October 2018
Close of Voting 5pm Friday 9 November 2018

More information? 

Local Government Association of SA: Local Government Elections  

  • About Council elections
  • Find your candidate
  • Voters FAQ
  • Election Results

Electoral Commission of South Australia: ECSA  

  • Key dates
  • Voting in Council elections
  • Re-issuing of voting packs

Alexandrina Council is divided into five Wards for the purposes of local government elections:

  • Angas Bremer Ward
  • Goolwa-Hindmarsh Island Ward
  • Nangkita-Kuitpo Ward
  • Port Elliot-Middleton Ward
  • Strathalbyn Ward

Your registered address on the State Electoral roll determines the postal ballots for Wards you will receive. All those on the Voters Roll for Alexandrina receive the Mayoral Ballot.

Please view a map of Ward boundaries here.

This content is authorised by Glenn Rappensberg, 11 Cadell Street, Goolwa SA 5214.